Doften av ett hem

The smell of other people's houses
Bok av Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
?Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock?s Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar?. A thrilling, arresting debut.? ?Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here ?[A] singular debut. . . .  [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice.? ?The Wall Street Journal This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America?s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent. Ruth has a secret that she can?t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she?s always known on her family?s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it?s safer to run away than to stay home?until one of them ends up in terrible danger. Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable William C. Morris Award finalist is about people who try to save each other?and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.  Praise: William C. Morris FinalistShortlisted for the Carnegie MedalAmelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult FictionTayshas Reading List?Top 10 ListNew York Public Library?s Best 50 Books for Teens Chicago Public Library, Best of the Best ListShelf Awareness, Best Children?s & Teen Books of the YearNominated to the Oklahoma Sequoya Book Award Master List Nominated to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award?Hitchcock?s debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study?a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age.? ?John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Where Things Come Back and Highly Illogical Behavior ?As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there.? ?Bustle.com
9 utgåvor
Välj utgåva
Doften av ett hemSvenska - Pocket
ISBN: 9789178130160
Der Geruch von Häusern anderer LeuteTyska - Inbunden
ISBN: 9783551560216
The Smell of Other People's HousesEngelska - Okänt
ISBN: 9780553497793
The Smell of Other People's HousesEngelska - Pocket
ISBN: 9780571314959
The Smell of Other People's HousesEngelska - Pocket
ISBN: 9780553497816
The Smell of Other People's Houses - NewEngelska - Inbunden
ISBN: 9780553497786
Doften av ett hemSvenska - E-bok
ISBN: 9789188281661
Smell of Other People's HousesEngelska - E-bok
ISBN: 9780571314935
Smell of Other People's HousesEngelska - E-bok
ISBN: 9780553497809
Boken utspelar sig i Alaska 1970. Det är en tid då mycket fortfarande kretsar kring det faktum att Alaska sedan några år tillbaka blivit en av USA:s stater, vilket många i Alaska kämpat emot.
🏠
Flera invånare lever fortfarande kvar som de gjorde innan Alaska blev en delstat och har nu svårt att finna sig i nya lagar och bestämmelser gällande bland annat jakt-och fiskerättigheter. Närheten till naturen är central i berättelsen och man kan riktigt känna doften av havet och höra vågornas brus.
🏠
Berättelsen har flera huvudpersoner som man får följa via olika spår i boken. En del känner varandra och andra är främlingar, i alla fall till en början. Men vissa teman är centrala och återkommer gång på gång.
Det handlar om trasiga familjer och sönderslitna relationer. Det handlar om att fly bort för att komma hem, var hem än må vara. Och det handlar om att hitta sin familj, hur den än ser ut och oavsett om man hör ihop via blodsband eller ej.
🏠